Skip to content

Compare

BikeCare vs mainTrack: two bike maintenance apps compared

Free and lean versus deeper maths – what mainTrack does well and where BikeCare goes further.

As of 2 November 2026 · taken from the providers' own public pages.

mainTrack is free, mature and deliberately lean: if you ride with Apple devices and want a dependable counter with intervals and reminders, it is free to download, has no subscription and does that job well. BikeCare is free for one bike and already includes the arithmetic behind the maintenance: remaining life per part, wear weighted by conditions on drivetrain and brakes and by measured power, tyre pressure, cost per kilometre, plus Android and the browser. Pro adds unlimited bikes, the 90-day maintenance plan and more AI. Where mainTrack's own pages stay silent on a feature, we say so rather than claiming it is missing.

BikeCare and mainTrack side by side

Feature comparison of BikeCare and mainTrack, as of 2 November 2026
FeatureBikeCaremainTrack
Remaining life per componentavailablelimited
Weighted by conditionsavailablenot stated
Weighted by power outputavailablenot stated
Tyre pressure calculatoravailablenot stated
AI assistant and bike setupavailablenot stated
Chain care per lube methodavailablelimited
Costs per year and per kmavailablenot stated
Service book and exportavailablelimited
Push and email remindersavailablelimited
Friends, challenges, rankingavailablenot stated
Sync sourceslimitedlimited
Operating hours as metricavailableavailable
EU provider, GDPR, legal noticeavailablelimited
  • available
  • limited
  • not available
  • not stated on the provider's own pages

You can work out your tyre pressure right here: bike tyre pressure calculator – from your weight (it adds the bike), front and rear tyre width and tyre system, no sign-up.

In context

mainTrack has been in the App Store since January 2019 and is free to download: Apple's lookup API reports a price of 0.00; the listing shows four in-app purchases named Coffee, Snack, Lunch and Dinner (US $1.99–$13.99) without saying what they unlock, and no subscription is advertised. It counts kilometres and hours per component, lets you set service intervals and tells you when one is due, and its component model is a strong one: a wheelset or a chain can move between bikes and keeps its own usage. BikeCare is a different trade-off: a free core with an optional subscription, running on the web, iOS and Android. And it goes further wherever the arithmetic gets specific: remaining life per part, wear weighted by wet weather, surface and elevation, a tyre pressure calculator, cost per kilometre.

Where mainTrack is stronger

  • Free to download, with no subscription advertised. Apple's official lookup API reported price 0.00 ("Free") on 2 November 2026, and no subscription or Pro version is advertised on any primary source. The only in-app purchases are four items named Coffee, Snack, Lunch and Dinner (US $1.99–$13.99, Germany €1.99–€14.99), and the provider does not say what they unlock. If you don't want a recurring bill and mainTrack's scope covers you, it is simply cheaper than any subscription product, BikeCare included.
  • Seven years in the store and still maintained. First released on 3 January 2019, current version 1.7.54 dated 4 September 2026, rated 4.6 out of 5 from 59 ratings in the US store. That is a run of continuity BikeCare cannot match: we are new, and we have a handful of users.
  • A very strong component model across several bikes. The provider explicitly describes creating components you use "occasionally or in multiple bikes" and assigning one to a bike for a period, while its usage keeps running separately from the bike itself. If you rotate wheelsets, power meters or chains between bikes, that is exactly the right way to think about it.
  • Hours count as a first-class metric alongside kilometres. The provider's own examples are "how many hours your race wheel have or mileage on your chain", and suspension servicing is named outright: "Or when you need to service your suspension?" The Portuguese store description names usage time ("tempo de uso") as an interval basis alongside distance, rides and calendar periods. For mountain bikers and anyone who services by operating hours rather than distance, that is the better fit.
  • Deliberately lean and focused. mainTrack does one thing: count usage, set an interval, remind, log the service. The provider's five-page website advertises nothing beyond that: no calculators, no AI, no social feed. For riders who want a quiet tool rather than a dashboard, less surface is a feature, not a gap.
  • Deep in the Apple ecosystem, device sync included. The store listing names "Synchronize your data across multiple devices" and lists iPhone and iPad plus Apple Silicon Macs (macOS 12 and later, as an iPad app "not verified for macOS") and Vision Pro as supported; for a household entirely on Apple hardware that fits well.
  • A lean privacy label. In the App Store's "App Privacy" section mainTrack declares only "Data Not Linked to You" (identifiers, usage data, diagnostics) and lists no data linked to the user. For riders who want as little personal data as possible attached to their maintenance log, that is a clear statement on the provider's own listing.

What BikeCare is built for

Remaining life, not only a counter

mainTrack counts usage against an interval you set: "based on period of time, usage, rides or elapsed time", in the provider's own words. BikeCare estimates how much further a part will actually go: remaining life in kilometres and in days for chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette and over 20 further parts, derived from a wear rate rather than a fixed target. A remaining-life forecast of that kind is not described in mainTrack's primary sources.

Wet rides count more than dry ones

Every ride is weighted by its conditions: wet weather and surface on the drivetrain, elevation gain on the brakes. A rainy gravel ride eats more chain than the same distance dry and flat, and BikeCare bills it that way. Drivetrain parts are additionally weighted by the work done in kilojoules, but only where the power was genuinely measured with a power meter; without one the calculation stays exactly as it is. mainTrack lists time, usage, rides and elapsed time as its interval bases; wet weather, surface, elevation, watts and kilojoules do not appear on its pages.

Tyre pressure is calculated, not looked up

BikeCare takes rider weight (the bike's weight is assumed per bike type), tyre width front and rear and the tyre system (tube, tubeless or hookless), and on hookless rims caps the result hard at the ISO/ETRTO maximum, because on a hookless rim that limit is a safety matter, not a suggestion. In mainTrack's primary sources tyres show up only as a part to be serviced ("when was the last time you replaced your tyres"); tyre pressure, bar, psi, tubeless or hookless are not mentioned on the home page, the support page or the store description.

Chain care by the method you actually use

Hot wax, drip wax, dry lube and wet lube each get their own interval, and a wet ride flags chain care as due straight away: someone who hot-waxes gets different dates from someone running wet lube through the winter. mainTrack's intervals are freely definable, so you can build a wax or oil interval yourself; ready-made intervals that distinguish the lubrication method are not advertised on its pages.

An AI that looks up your model

Type in make and model and the AI researches the bike live on the web, then creates the parts list and spec sheet; the maintenance intervals come from BikeCare's reference values. The Copilot answers questions about your particular bike. The AI parts recommendation with shop links (some are affiliate links) is free at 40 requests a month; without Pro you can also try one AI bike setup and one Copilot question a month, and Pro gives you more. Neither mainTrack's website nor its store description nor its release notes mention AI or automatic bike recognition.

Android and the browser, not iOS only

mainTrack's home page has carried "Coming Soon!" for Android for years, and its store listing covers iPhone, iPad, Apple Silicon Macs and Vision Pro. BikeCare runs in any browser and as an app on both iOS and Android, works offline and syncs the changes later, so the phone in your pocket doesn't decide whether you can see your maintenance data.

A service book that knows what things cost

Workshop visits, part prices and warranty dates are recorded and export as CSV or PDF, and BikeCare turns them into cost per year and cost per kilometre, per bike and across every bike you own. mainTrack clearly documents the service history itself ("Keep track of all services, so you know when you last serviced a part or component"), while cost fields, warranty data, a CSV or PDF export and any cost analysis are not disclosed on its pages.

An imprint and reminders you control

BikeCare is run by a sole trader in Germany with an imprint naming a contact, and uploaded document files are stored in the EU; push notices and the email digest have separate intervals, so you can switch email off and keep push. mainTrack's privacy policy does name GDPR rights including portability "in a structured, commonly used and machine readable format", but no controller with an address and no server location; the German App Store notes that the developer has not identified as a trader, and its push notifications are documented while email reminders are not: the only email function on the site is a newsletter list.

The bike changes hands with its history

When you sell, the BikeCare Passport hands the bike over to the buyer's own account with a one-time link: parts with their intervals and the wear so far, the odometer and the service history go with it, while your notes, costs and rides stay with you. For people interested in buying there is also a time-limited, revocable share link and the service report as a PDF, all free of charge.

Common questions

Is mainTrack free?

Yes, to download: Apple's official lookup API reported price 0.00 and "Free" on 2 November 2026, and no subscription or Pro version is advertised on any of the provider's own pages. The German App Store lists four in-app purchases named Coffee, Snack, Lunch and Dinner (€1.99–€14.99); what they unlock is not stated. The page maintrack.app/subscription-confirmation refers to a newsletter list ("Your subscription to our list has been confirmed."), not a paid plan. BikeCare's maintenance core is free too, for one bike; Pro adds unlimited bikes and more of the generative AI features, which free accounts can try once a month.

Is mainTrack available on Android?

Not as things stand on 2 November 2026. mainTrack's home page has listed Android as "Coming Soon!" for years, and the App Store listing covers iPhone and iPad plus Apple Silicon Macs (macOS 12 and later, as an iPad app) and Vision Pro. If you ride with an Android phone, you cannot use it today. BikeCare runs in any browser and as an app on both iOS and Android, so a household on mixed hardware still sees the same maintenance data.

Is mainTrack enough to track component wear?

For a lot of riders, yes. The provider describes planning maintenance "based on period of time, usage, rides or elapsed time", checking "your bike's parts usage since you last serviced them" and being notified "when a service is due", so it counts against a target rather than only accumulating a total, and hours count alongside kilometres. What its primary sources do not describe is a wear rate: weighting a wet gravel ride more heavily than a dry flat one, or projecting the date a part will be worn out. That is the gap BikeCare is built to fill (as of 2 November 2026).

Does mainTrack have a tyre pressure calculator?

None is disclosed. Tyres appear in mainTrack's primary sources only as a part to be serviced ("when was the last time you replaced your tyres"), and neither the home page, the support page nor the App Store description mentions tyre pressure, bar, psi, tubeless or hookless. BikeCare derives a pressure from rider weight, tyre width front and rear and the tyre system (tube, tubeless, hookless), and on hookless rims it caps hard at the ISO/ETRTO maximum; front and rear tyres are separate parts with their own distance ridden and their own pressure (as of 2 November 2026).

Can mainTrack import my rides automatically?

Yes, from Strava. The provider writes: "Keep track of your bikes and components usage by connecting to Strava or manually recording activities." Those two routes are documented; Garmin, Wahoo, Komoot or any other service are not named anywhere on the provider's pages. BikeCare also syncs exclusively through Strava, by webhook, so rides land in the app shortly after upload. On this point the two apps sit in the same place: without a Strava account there is no automatic import in either.

Does mainTrack send email reminders?

Push notifications are documented: "Receive notifications after a ride is completed and when a service is due." Email reminders and separately configurable rhythms are not disclosed anywhere on the provider's pages; the only email function on the website is a newsletter list. BikeCare sends push notices and an email digest, each on an interval you set yourself, so you can turn email off entirely and keep the push reminders (as of 2 November 2026).

Where is mainTrack's data stored, and who is responsible for it?

Not disclosed. The privacy policy names GDPR rights (withdrawal of consent, deletion, portability "in a structured, commonly used and machine readable format" and objection), but there is no imprint, no controller with a postal address and no server location; on transfers it says only that "data transfers may involve transferring and storing your information in a country other than your own". The German App Store adds that the developer has not identified as a trader for this app. The one location to be found anywhere is Wellington, New Zealand, on the provider's official Strava club. BikeCare is run by a sole trader in Germany with an imprint on the site; uploaded document files are stored in the EU, and the privacy policy names the service providers.

Is there a mainTrack alternative for Android?

BikeCare is one. It runs in the browser and as an app on iOS and Android, and the maintenance core is free for one bike: wear with remaining life per part, Strava sync, push and email reminders, the tyre pressure calculator, and a service book with CSV and PDF export. Pro adds unlimited bikes, the 90-day maintenance plan and more AI auto-setups and Copilot questions than the one of each a month that is free. There are other options in this category too, and if what you want is a free Apple-only tool, mainTrack itself remains a good one.

How we compared

Everything here comes from the providers' own public sources: website, help centre, pricing page and store listings. Retrieved: 2 November 2026.

BikeCare made this comparison. It is not an independent test, and features and prices change. Is something wrong or out of date? Write to us at support@bikecare.app – we will check it and correct it.

Source: mainTrack: maintrack.app

All brand and product names mentioned belong to their respective owners. BikeCare is not affiliated with any of the providers named.

Connect Strava, add your bike, and BikeCare works out the remaining life from your first ride.