Compare
BikeCare vs ProBikeGarage: bike maintenance apps compared
One of the widest-reaching maintenance apps versus BikeCare – where ProBikeGarage leads and where BikeCare goes deeper.
ProBikeGarage is the safer pick for proven, basic maintenance tracking with a large parts catalogue, several setups per bike and large attachments such as photos and videos (on Premium). BikeCare suits road, gravel and MTB riders who want tyre pressure, chain care per lubrication method, condition-dependent wear and cost per kilometre worked out transparently. As at 2 November 2026.
BikeCare and ProBikeGarage side by side
| Feature | BikeCare | ProBikeGarage |
|---|---|---|
| Remaining life per component | available | limited |
Remaining life forecast per component (chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette) BikeCare: BikeCare shows a remaining life in kilometres and days for chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette and 20+ further parts. ProBikeGarage: ProBikeGarage compares usage against service intervals that its catalogue presets and the user can adjust, and alerts when the defined interval reaches the last 10% and 0%; a projected due date is not stated. | ||
| Weighted by conditions | available | not stated |
Wear weighted by conditions (wet, surface, elevation gain) BikeCare: In BikeCare, wet weather and surface feed into the remaining life of chain, cassette and chainrings, and elevation gain and wet weather into that of the brakes. ProBikeGarage: For ProBikeGarage (intervals by distance, moving time, elapsed time, number of rides and, on Premium, elevation gain are documented), weighting by conditions is not stated on the provider's own pages. | ||
| Weighted by power output | available | not stated |
Wear weighted by the power actually put out BikeCare: Chain, cassette and chainring are additionally weighted by the work done: 200 km out of the saddle uphill loads the drivetrain harder than 200 km rolling along the flat. The calculation runs on kilojoules per kilometre and only counts power actually MEASURED by a power meter. Strava's estimates are deliberately left out because they ignore wind and drafting. Without a power meter the calculation stays unchanged. ProBikeGarage: Not stated on the provider's own pages. Since June 2025 Premium shows total, average and maximum stats per bike and component, including power and energy – as statistics, not as a wear weighting (App Store release note 2.14.1, as at 2 November 2026). | ||
| Tyre pressure calculator | available | not stated |
Tyre pressure calculator (front/rear width, tube/tubeless/hookless, ETRTO limit) BikeCare: BikeCare derives the pressure from rider weight, front and rear tyre width and the tyre system, and on hookless rims caps it hard at the ISO/ETRTO maximum. ProBikeGarage: A tyre pressure calculator is not stated on ProBikeGarage's own pages. | ||
| AI assistant and bike setup | available | not stated |
AI assistant and AI bike setup BikeCare: AI auto-setup creates the bike from make and model including its parts list (live web search), and the Copilot answers questions about your specific bike. Free of charge: the AI parts recommendation with shop links (some are affiliate links) (40 requests a month) plus one AI bike setup and one Copilot question a month to try them out; Pro gives you more. | ||
| Chain care per lube method | available | limited |
Chain care intervals per lubrication method (hot wax, drip wax, dry lube, wet lube) BikeCare: BikeCare stores its own interval for each method. ProBikeGarage: ProBikeGarage addresses chain waxing explicitly in a blog post of its own, but the intervals are set by the user ("based on the mileage or time intervals you set"). | ||
| Costs per year and per km | available | not stated |
Cost analysis per year and per kilometre BikeCare: BikeCare converts the recorded costs into a figure per year and per kilometre ridden, per bike and across all bikes. ProBikeGarage: For ProBikeGarage, price comparison for spare parts and logging workshop visits are documented; a structured cost field with an analysis is not. | ||
| Service book and export | available | limited |
Service book with costs and warranty, export as CSV and PDF BikeCare: BikeCare exports your recorded entries as CSV and each bike's service record as a PDF. ProBikeGarage: ProBikeGarage keeps a documented maintenance history with attachments of up to 10 GB on the Premium subscription, and since August 2024 a one-tap service for the whole bike resets all periodic intervals, including those of child parts; a CSV or PDF export is not stated. | ||
| Push and email reminders | available | limited |
Push and email reminders with separately adjustable frequency BikeCare: In BikeCare the push frequency and the email digest are configurable independently of each other, and reminders can be snoozed individually. ProBikeGarage: For ProBikeGarage, maintenance alerts with an early warning at 10 % remaining are documented, and since February 2025 alerts can be snoozed for a bike, a component or a single interval. The privacy policy names email and device-notification providers and emails for 'notifications needed for the Services'; whether maintenance reminders go out by email, or at an adjustable frequency, is not stated. | ||
| Friends, challenges, ranking | available | not stated |
Friend comparison, challenges and leaderboard BikeCare: In BikeCare this is voluntary and switched off by default. Private groups with their own challenges are available. | ||
| Sync sources | limited | limited |
Where the rides come from (sync sources) BikeCare: This is where BikeCare is weakest: it syncs via Strava only, by webhook shortly after the upload. Without a Strava account there is no automatic import. ProBikeGarage: Strava is the only sync source named in ProBikeGarage's primary sources; the privacy policy speaks of 'Tracking Apps (e.g. Strava)', and the terms require connecting such a tracking app to use the service. | ||
| Operating hours as metric | available | available |
Operating hours as an interval metric of its own (suspension fork, shock) BikeCare: For fork and shock, operating hours are the technically correct yardstick: Fox and RockShox publish their service intervals in exactly that unit. BikeCare keeps them as a metric of its own alongside kilometres and calendar time, preset to 50 h for fork and shock and 100 h for the dropper post. ProBikeGarage: Moving-time intervals are documented with suspension as the example: 'MTB fork and shock services every 100 hours'; elapsed time counts calendar time since installation or the last service. | ||
| EU provider, GDPR, legal notice | available | not stated |
EU provider under the GDPR, public legal notice BikeCare: BikeCare is a sole trader based in Germany, and the legal notice gives a postal address. Uploaded document files are stored in the EU; hosting and database run on Cloudflare, and some features, such as the AI, also process data in the USA; the privacy policy has the details. ProBikeGarage: According to the App Store, the seller of ProBikeGarage is Tappr Labs LLC, a US legal entity with no stated server location. The Play Store listing gives Tappr Labs LLC, 30 N Gould St Ste R, Sheridan, WY 82801, United States. | ||
- available
- limited
- not available
- not stated on the provider's own pages
In context
ProBikeGarage is one of the widest-reaching maintenance apps: more than 100,000 downloads and 4.7 stars from 2,030 reviews in the Play Store (German store, retrieved 2 November 2026), and more than 160,000 cyclists according to its own website; on Android since March 2018, in the App Store since March 2019 and as a web app since October 2024. If you want a proven app with a large bike catalogue and several setups per bike, you are well served there. BikeCare is new, considerably smaller, and goes deeper into the maintenance maths: a tyre pressure calculator, wear weighting for wet rides, surface and elevation gain, and chain care intervals for each lubrication method.
Where ProBikeGarage is stronger
- Reach and track record. ProBikeGarage has been on Android since March 2018, in the App Store since March 2019 and, since October 2024, on the web with the same features as the mobile apps, and reaches more than 100,000 downloads and 4.7 stars from 2,030 reviews in the Play Store (German store, retrieved 2 November 2026). BikeCare is new and has none of that to show.
- Setup without AI and without a subscription. The bike catalogue of 47,000+ bikes from 60+ brands brings components and service intervals for each bike, and the component catalogue, expanded by 1,000+ parts in 2024, supplies default intervals for some components, straight away and with no subscription (on iOS the app itself costs €3.99). BikeCare offers 34 bike templates and an AI auto-setup that can be used once a month without Pro and, being a generative method, can get things wrong.
- Several setups per bike. If you ride indoors in winter or fit different wheels for races, you can include or exclude components per type of ride (also road/MTB, gravel, commuting or your own #hashtags in the Strava title); the parts only count on the matching rides. Components can also be nested, so a whole wheel with its tyre and cassette moves between bikes. BikeCare handles several bikes and wheelsets that move between them with their kilometres, but switching is a dated entry, not automatic per type of ride.
- Rich attachments on the part itself. ProBikeGarage stores up to 10 GB of full-resolution photos, videos and documents on bikes, components, intervals and individual services as part of its Premium subscription. BikeCare stores receipts and documents (PDF, JPG or PNG, up to 10 MB each) on the bike and on services, but not directly on a part and without video.
What BikeCare is built for
Tyre pressure as a calculation, not a rule of thumb
BikeCare derives the pressure from rider weight, tyre width front and rear, and the tyre system, telling tubed, tubeless and hookless apart. On hookless rims the ISO/ETRTO maximum is capped hard (even when a higher figure is moulded into the tyre), and the app says when it has capped.
Wear weighted by conditions, not by distance alone
500 km in the rain on gravel cost a chain more than 500 km dry on tarmac. BikeCare shows remaining life for chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette and more than 20 other parts, and weights the conditions as it does so: wet and surface for the drivetrain, elevation gain and wet weather for the brakes.
Chain care per lubrication method
Hot wax, drip wax, dry lube and wet lube last different lengths of time. BikeCare stores its own interval for each method, instead of you managing a distance figure you set yourself.
Wear weighted by the work you actually did
Chain, cassette and chainring are additionally weighted by the work performed: 200 km out of the saddle in the mountains loads the drivetrain harder than 200 km rolling along in the flat. The calculation runs on kilojoules per kilometre and only where power was MEASURED with a power meter. Strava estimates are deliberately left out, because they ignore wind and drafting. Without a power meter the calculation stays exactly as it was.
Cost per year and per kilometre
Every service can be logged with cost and warranty. BikeCare turns that into cost per year and per kilometre ridden: the figure that shows what a bike really costs.
A service book you can take with you
Your recorded entries export as CSV, and each bike's service record as a PDF: for selling the bike, for the workshop, or for a warranty claim.
German provider, free for one bike
BikeCare is developed in Germany, the legal notice gives a postal address, and uploaded document files are stored in the EU. Maintenance tracking is free for one bike; the optional Pro subscription adds unlimited bikes, the 90-day maintenance plan and more AI auto-setups and Copilot questions than the monthly free taste.
The bike changes hands with its history
When you sell, the BikeCare Passport hands the bike over to the buyer's own account with a one-time link: parts with their intervals and the wear so far, the odometer and the service history go with it, while your notes, costs and rides stay with you. For people interested in buying there is also a time-limited, revocable share link and the service report as a PDF, all free of charge.
Common questions
What is the difference between BikeCare and ProBikeGarage?
ProBikeGarage tracks wear through service intervals based on distance, moving time, elapsed time and number of rides, and on Premium also elevation gain, with catalogue defaults you can adjust, and alerts you when an interval is reached. BikeCare additionally weights wet weather and surface for the drivetrain and elevation gain and wet weather for the brakes, brings a tyre pressure calculator with tyre width front and rear, tyre system and the ISO/ETRTO ceiling for hookless rims, stores chain care intervals for each lubrication method, and works out cost per year and per kilometre. ProBikeGarage, in turn, has been on the market far longer, has a large predefined bike catalogue and allows several setups per bike. As at 2 November 2026.
Is ProBikeGarage enough to track component wear?
For distance-, time- and, on Premium, elevation-based service intervals, yes. The documented bases are distance, moving time, elapsed time, number of rides and, on Premium, elevation gain, plus alerts when your interval is reached, snoozing, a catalogue of 47,000+ bikes from 60+ brands with their components and service intervals, and several setups per bike. What the public provider pages do not set out is any weighting by conditions (wet, surface, elevation gain) or by measured power, and no tyre pressure calculator is listed there (as at 2 November 2026). If those are what you are after, that is the gap BikeCare is built to fill.
What languages are BikeCare and ProBikeGarage available in?
The ProBikeGarage app is localised into eight languages according to Apple's lookup API, German among them; the provider's website, help centre and blog are in English only. BikeCare runs in English and German, app and website alike, and support is answered by the developer directly. One thing worth knowing before you sign up: BikeCare works in kilometres throughout: there is no imperial unit setting.
How much does ProBikeGarage cost compared with BikeCare?
With ProBikeGarage the price depends on the platform (as at 2 November 2026): in the German App Store the download costs €3.99, with optional Premium at €2.99 a month or €29.99 a year. In the Play Store the install is free and in-app purchases are stated as €3.19 to €26.99 per item. The provider's website quotes 2.99 US dollars a month and 24.99 US dollars a year, subject to a currency caveat. Core maintenance tracking at ProBikeGarage is free; Premium covers attachments up to 10 GB, elevation-gain service intervals and extended statistics, priority support and a daily rather than weekly full Strava sync. BikeCare is free for one bike; the optional Pro subscription extends AI auto-setup and the Copilot chat beyond the free monthly taste and unlocks the 90-day maintenance plan and unlimited bikes.
Does ProBikeGarage take rain, surface and elevation gain into account when calculating wear?
No such weighting is set out on the public provider pages. ProBikeGarage bases its service intervals on distance, moving time, elapsed time and number of rides, and since June 2025 Premium users can also set intervals by elevation gain, an interval of its own, not a weighting (as at 2 November 2026; App Store release notes 2.14.1 and 2.15.0). BikeCare weights these things explicitly: wet weather and surface raise the wear on chain, cassette and chainring, and elevation gain raises the wear on brake pads and rotors.
Is BikeCare a good alternative to ProBikeGarage?
For road, gravel and MTB riders who want tyre pressure, chain care per lubrication method, condition-dependent wear and cost per kilometre worked out transparently, yes. If instead you need a large predefined bike catalogue, several setups per bike, or large attachments such as photos and videos (on Premium), ProBikeGarage is the better home. For a sense of how current things are: as at 2 November 2026 the ProBikeGarage store listings carry 28 and 29 July 2025 respectively as their last update.
Do I need a Strava account for BikeCare?
For rides to be imported automatically, yes. BikeCare syncs through Strava only, by webhook right after the ride. If you already connect your Garmin or Wahoo to Strava, as most people do, nothing else is needed. If you deliberately ride without Strava, you should know about this limitation up front. ProBikeGarage's primary sources likewise name only Strava as a sync source (privacy policy: 'e.g. Strava'), its terms require connecting such a tracking app, and it combines real-time updates with a scheduled full sync: weekly, or daily on the Premium plan. According to its help centre, components defined in Strava's gear section are not imported.
Who develops BikeCare and where is the data held?
BikeCare is built by a single developer in Germany, the legal notice gives a postal address, and support enquiries are answered by the developer himself; uploaded document files are stored in the EU, hosting and database run on Cloudflare, and the privacy policy names the service providers. ProBikeGarage is distributed by Tappr Labs LLC according to the App Store listing, a US legal form with an address in Sheridan, Wyoming (USA, per the Play Store listing); its privacy policy expressly grants GDPR rights to all users worldwide, but names neither a server location nor a cloud provider. That is a difference in how much the sources state, not a judgement about data security.