Compare
Bike maintenance apps compared: BikeCare, Strava, Garmin Connect, ProBikeGarage, mainTrack and Geer
Six apps, six approaches – what each one does, where BikeCare loses and which one suits whom.
If you only want the kilometres per component, Strava and Garmin already do that: Garmin offers gear tracking to all Garmin Connect users, and Strava does not list gear tracking among its paid membership features. If you want an app that is free to download with no subscription and you use Apple devices, look at mainTrack. If price decides it, Geer is cheaper than BikeCare. BikeCare is for riders who want the kilometres weighted by wet weather, surface and elevation, plus a tyre pressure calculator and a cost per kilometre.
Every app at a glance
| Feature | BikeCare | Strava | Garmin Connect | ProBikeGarage | mainTrack | Geer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remaining life per component | available | not available | limited | limited | limited | available |
Remaining life forecast per component (chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette) BikeCare: BikeCare shows a remaining life in kilometres and days for chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette and 20+ further parts. Strava: Strava counts the kilometres per component, but according to its help centre there is no target value to calculate against (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: Garmin Connect counts distance, activities, hours and days per item and shows a progress bar for how close it is to the end of its life; the limit is entered by the user (per the Garmin forum, "Max Distance"), and a wear model is not stated (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: ProBikeGarage compares usage against service intervals that its catalogue presets and the user can adjust; alerts come when the interval reaches its last 10 % and 0 %; a projected due date is not stated (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: Usage is checked against an interval the rider sets; a remaining-life forecast or projected date is not described in the provider's sources. Maintenance is planned per part against that target: "Plan your bikes maintenance periodically based on period of time, usage, rides or elapsed time", plus "Check your bike's parts usage since you last serviced them" and a notification "when a service is due" (as at 2 November 2026). Geer: Geer runs components against service intervals you set: the homepage describes "Add your components, set maintenance intervals" and "Set suggested service intervals". Changelog v2.6.0 (9 June 2026) adds a switch of the progress display "between remaining and elapsed", and v2.11.2 shows a countdown per maintenance task. The parts named by the provider are chain, cassette, brake pads, tyres, brake rotors and bottom bracket, and v2.18.0 (24 September 2026) adds suggested maintenance plans per part. | ||||||
| Weighted by conditions | available | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Wear weighted by conditions (wet, surface, elevation gain) BikeCare: In BikeCare, wet weather and surface feed into the remaining life of chain, cassette and chainrings, and elevation gain and wet weather into that of the brakes. Strava: Strava's help centre only describes total distance for gear; weighting by wet weather, surface or elevation is not stated (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: For Garmin Connect (distance, hours, days and number of activities are documented), weighting by conditions is not stated on the provider's own pages (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: For ProBikeGarage (intervals by distance, moving time, elapsed time, number of rides and, on Premium, elevation gain are documented), weighting by conditions is not stated on the provider's own pages (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: The provider itself lists the bases of its intervals as "period of time, usage, rides or elapsed time"; wet weather, surface and elevation appear neither there nor on any of the five pages of its website. Not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer: Not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer's own board lists both requests as open: weighting brake wear by altitude ("In Review" since 18 April 2025) and weather-based chain wax intervals ("In Review" since 26 March 2026). What Geer does have is an include/exclude rule rather than a weighting: parts can be marked indoor, outdoor or both ("Ride types", changelog v1.11.0), and an extension to more ride types is listed as "Planned" (as at 2 November 2026). | ||||||
| Weighted by power output | available | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Wear weighted by the power actually put out BikeCare: Chain, cassette and chainring are additionally weighted by the work done: 200 km out of the saddle uphill loads the drivetrain harder than 200 km rolling along the flat. The calculation runs on kilojoules per kilometre and only counts power actually MEASURED by a power meter; Strava's estimates are deliberately left out because they ignore wind and drafting. Without a power meter the calculation stays unchanged. ProBikeGarage: Not stated on the provider's own pages. Since June 2025 Premium shows total, average and maximum stats per bike and component, including power and energy – as statistics, not as a wear weighting (App Store release note 2.14.1, as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: As usage figures the provider names only distance, hours, rides and time ("how many hours your race wheel have"). Watts, kilojoules or a power meter appear in neither the full App Store description (English and Portuguese) nor the website. Not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer: Not stated on the provider's own pages. Neither the homepage, the help centre, the comparison pages nor the full changelog names watts, kilojoules, normalised power or power-meter data as a wear metric (checked 2 November 2026). | ||||||
| Tyre pressure calculator | available | not available | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Tyre pressure calculator (front/rear width, tube/tubeless/hookless, ETRTO limit) BikeCare: BikeCare derives the pressure from rider weight, front and rear tyre width and the tyre system, and on hookless rims caps it hard at the ISO/ETRTO maximum. Strava: Strava's component management has neither pressure nor width fields; a value could only be written into the free-text note (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: A tyre pressure calculator is stated neither in Garmin's press release of 24 February 2026 nor in its feature update of 2 June 2026 (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: A tyre pressure calculator is not stated on ProBikeGarage's own pages (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: Tyres appear in the provider's sources only as a part to be serviced ("when was the last time you replaced your tyres"), not as a calculator. Neither the home page, the support page nor the App Store description mentions tyre pressure, bar/psi, tubeless or hookless. Not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer: Not stated on the provider's own pages (homepage, help centre, comparison pages, blog, changelog and feedback board, all checked 2 November 2026). The app itself sits behind a Strava login and cannot be checked from the outside. | ||||||
| AI assistant and bike setup | available | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
AI assistant and AI bike setup BikeCare: AI auto-setup creates the bike from make and model including its parts list (live web search), and the Copilot answers questions about your specific bike. Free of charge: the AI parts recommendation with shop links (some are affiliate links) (40 requests a month) plus one AI bike setup and one Copilot question a month to try them out; Pro gives you more. Strava: Strava offers AI summaries of activities (Athlete Intelligence, subscribers, mobile only); an AI assistant for bikes or components is not stated (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: Garmin's paid Connect+ includes "Garmin Active Intelligence" (AI insights on health and training); no AI for gear or bike setup is stated (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: No provider source mentions AI or automatic bike recognition, and the description presents setup as manual ("Create Components ... Assign Components to Bikes"). The release notes for the current version 1.7.54 of 4 September 2026 (as at 2 November 2026) read only "Minor bug fixes and performance improvements." Not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer: Not stated on the provider's own pages; no page names an AI or assistant feature. Since v2.18.0 (24 September 2026) Geer sets up a whole bike from a few questions and suggests a maintenance plan per part, and new riders get a plan from their Strava rides. That is not described as AI, and bikes still come from Strava rather than from make and model (as at 2 November 2026). | ||||||
| Chain care per lube method | available | not available | not stated | limited | limited | limited |
Chain care intervals per lubrication method (hot wax, drip wax, dry lube, wet lube) BikeCare: BikeCare stores its own interval for each method. Strava: For Strava, care intervals for bike components are not documented (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: In Garmin Connect the chain as a "Bike Component" covers replacement, not recurring care. ProBikeGarage: ProBikeGarage addresses chain waxing explicitly in a blog post of its own, but the intervals are set by the user ("based on the mileage or time intervals you set"). mainTrack: Intervals are freely definable ("Plan your bikes maintenance periodically based on period of time, usage, rides or elapsed time"), so a wax or oil interval can be set up by hand. Preset intervals that differ by lubrication method are not stated on any provider source. Geer: Several care tasks per component are possible: changelog v2.3.0 (22 April 2026) states "Unlimited maintenance tasks per component – add as many service intervals as you need", and the request behind it, marked "Completed", argues precisely with "cleaning, waxing and replacing their chain", so you can set up a wax interval of your own, and v2.18.0 adds "new presets for chain lube". Preset intervals that differ by lubrication method (hot wax versus drip wax versus dry or wet lube) are not stated on the provider's own pages. | ||||||
| Costs per year and per km | available | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Cost analysis per year and per kilometre BikeCare: BikeCare converts the recorded costs into a figure per year and per kilometre ridden, per bike and across all bikes. Strava: Cost tracking for gear is not stated on the Strava pages we checked. Garmin Connect: Cost tracking for gear is not stated on the Garmin Connect pages we checked. ProBikeGarage: For ProBikeGarage, price comparison for spare parts and logging workshop visits are documented; a structured cost field with an analysis is not. mainTrack: The provider's description names a service history, but neither cost fields nor an analysis per year or per kilometre, and the five pages of the website say nothing about costs. Not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer: Not stated on the provider's own pages. The homepage carries a savings widget ("Calculate your savings", footnote "Based on average component prices and recommended replacement intervals"), which works from average prices rather than your own records; recording your own costs per part and analysing them per year or per kilometre is not stated. | ||||||
| Service book and export | available | limited | limited | limited | limited | limited |
Service book with costs and warranty, export as CSV and PDF BikeCare: BikeCare exports your recorded entries as CSV and each bike's service record as a PDF. Strava: Strava offers only master data and a free-text note per component. Garmin Connect: Garmin Connect keeps gear items with make and model (from Garmin's database) and usage statistics; a separate maintenance entry and a PDF export are not stated, and an account data export is available (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: ProBikeGarage keeps a documented maintenance history with attachments of up to 10 GB on the Premium subscription; a CSV or PDF export is not stated. mainTrack: The service log itself is clearly documented: "record all serviced parts and components" and "Keep track of all services, so you know when you last serviced a part or component." Cost fields, warranty details and an export as CSV or PDF are not stated on any provider source. Geer: The service history itself is documented: the homepage says "Full History – Detailed maintenance history at a glance for every single part you own", and Geer's comparison overview and its page against Strava tick "Service history". The export is missing: "Data Export (CSV, Excel, ...)" has sat unresolved at "In Review" since 6 February 2026, and a PDF export as well as cost and warranty fields in the service history are not stated on the provider's own pages. | ||||||
| Push and email reminders | available | not stated | limited | limited | limited | limited |
Push and email reminders with separately adjustable frequency BikeCare: In BikeCare the push frequency and the email digest are configurable independently of each other, and reminders can be snoozed individually. Strava: Reminders for bike components are not stated on the Strava help pages we checked; a distance email is documented explicitly for running shoes (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: According to Garmin, notifications arrive via the Garmin Connect app on the paired smartphone when gear approaches its end of life; Edge and compatible watches show progress bars. Email reminders and an adjustable frequency are not stated on Garmin's pages (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: For ProBikeGarage, maintenance alerts with an early warning at 10 % remaining are documented, and since February 2025 alerts can be snoozed for a bike, a component or a single interval; the privacy policy names email and device-notification providers and emails for "notifications needed for the Services"; whether maintenance reminders go out by email, or at an adjustable frequency, is not stated (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: Push is documented: "Receive notifications after a ride is completed and when a service is due". Email reminders and separately adjustable intervals are not stated anywhere; the only email function on the website is a newsletter list (page "subscription-confirmation"). Geer: Both channels are documented and the provider highlights them itself: the homepage lists "Push & Mail Notifications – Friendly reminders when components are due", and Geer's own comparison page against mainTrack says "Geer sends both push notifications and email alerts when components are due for service." A separately adjustable interval for push versus email is not stated anywhere; the help centre only covers enabling notifications in the browser, and the changelog names "Bundled mail notifications" (v1.9.0) plus a fix against repetitive notifications (v1.9.2). | ||||||
| Friends, challenges, ranking | available | available | available | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Friend comparison, challenges and leaderboard BikeCare: In BikeCare this is voluntary and switched off by default. Private groups with their own challenges are available. Strava: Strava is unbeaten here: segments, kudos and public clubs with a feed are something we deliberately do not rebuild. Garmin Connect: Step and distance challenges with friends, groups, likes and comments, and leaderboards with people you know (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: Neither the full App Store description nor the website shows a social, challenge or leaderboard function. The provider points to a Strava club ("Join our mainTrack.app club and share your rides.", 959 members on 2 November 2026). Whether there are in-app leaderboards is not stated on the provider's own pages. Geer: Not stated on the provider's own pages. What the pages do describe is a referral programme ("For every friend you refer to Geer, you get 1 month of Pro for free", help centre; changelog v1.15.0) and a Strava club as an external community; a comparison with friends, challenges or a leaderboard are not stated. | ||||||
| Sync sources | limited | available | available | limited | limited | limited |
Where the rides come from (sync sources) BikeCare: This is where BikeCare is weakest: it syncs via Strava only, by webhook shortly after the upload. Without a Strava account there is no automatic import. Strava: Strava records rides itself and takes them in from Garmin, Wahoo, Apple Watch and Fitbit. Garmin Connect: Garmin Connect gets the activities straight from the Garmin device and can auto-assign gear to activities; the automatic data flow is built around Garmin hardware, and an automatic import from other platforms is not stated on Garmin's pages (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: Strava is the only sync source named in ProBikeGarage's primary sources; the privacy policy speaks of "Tracking Apps (e.g. Strava)", and the terms require connecting such a tracking app to use the service (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: Exactly two routes are documented: "Keep track of your bikes and components usage by connecting to Strava or manually recording activities." Garmin, Wahoo, Komoot or further sources are not stated on any provider source; apart from Strava, no third-party service is named anywhere on the website. Geer: Strava only, and deeply so: the help centre says "Geer receives your new rides from Strava the moment they happen" (webhook in real time, plus a daily full sync at 6 p.m. and a manual sync in the settings), bikes are imported from Strava, and "Your data is securely linked to your Strava account". Garmin and Wahoo are not stated as sources ("Integration of Wahoo and Garmin APIs", with 12 votes, is among the highest-voted open requests on the feedback board and has been at "In Review" since 17 May 2025), and adding bikes manually without Strava has been an open request there since 31 May 2025. A Strava account is therefore a prerequisite; a paid Strava subscription is expressly not. | ||||||
| Operating hours as metric | available | not stated | limited | available | available | available |
Operating hours as an interval metric of its own (suspension fork, shock) BikeCare: For fork and shock, operating hours are the technically correct yardstick: Fox and RockShox publish their service intervals in exactly that unit. BikeCare keeps them as a metric of its own alongside kilometres and calendar time, preset to 50 h for fork and shock and 100 h for the dropper post. Strava: Strava's help centre describes total distance for gear; hours as a unit for components are not stated (retrieved 2 November 2026). Garmin Connect: Garmin records hours and days alongside distance; a limit set in hours is not stated on Garmin's pages (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: Moving-time intervals are documented with suspension as the example: "MTB fork and shock services every 100 hours"; elapsed time counts calendar time since installation or the last service (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: Hours are kept as a usage figure ("how many hours your race wheel have"), suspension is named as a use case ("Or when you need to service your suspension?"), and the Portuguese store description lists usage time as an interval basis: "de acordo com a kilometragem, número de atividades, tempo de uso, bem como por período de tempo (semana/mês/ano)" (as at 2 November 2026). Geer: Alongside distance, Geer knows time-based maintenance tasks: changelog v1.9.1 (30 June 2025) refers to "moving time and timer maintenance tasks" (that is, tasks running on ridden moving time as well as on calendar time), and v1.10.3 adds "Timer service notifications". Since v2.18.0 (24 September 2026) Geer ships suggested intervals with "new presets for … suspension forks"; shocks are not named. | ||||||
| EU provider, GDPR, legal notice | available | limited | available | not stated | limited | available |
EU provider under the GDPR, public legal notice BikeCare: BikeCare is a sole trader based in Germany, and the legal notice gives a postal address. Uploaded document files are stored in the EU; hosting and database run on Cloudflare, and some features, such as the AI, also process data in the USA; the privacy policy has the details. Strava: Strava, Inc. is based in San Francisco; for EU users Strava Ireland Limited is responsible, and according to the privacy policy the processing takes place in the USA on the basis of standard contractual clauses. Garmin Connect: For EEA users the controller is Garmin Würzburg GmbH; the legal notice names Garmin Deutschland GmbH (Garching). Account data is stored on servers in the USA, the UK and/or Australia, per the privacy policy (as at 2 November 2026). ProBikeGarage: According to the App Store, the seller of ProBikeGarage is Tappr Labs LLC, a US legal entity; the Play Store listing gives an address in Sheridan, Wyoming (United States). A server location is not stated (as at 2 November 2026). mainTrack: GDPR rights are named in the privacy policy (withdrawal of consent, erasure, portability "in a structured, commonly used and machine readable format", objection). There is no legal notice, no controller with a postal address and no server location; on transfers it says only that "data transfers may involve transferring and storing your information in a country other than your own". The German App Store notes expressly that the developer has not identified itself as a trader for this app. The privacy policy is dated 22 December 2018. Geer: Fully disclosed: the footer of every page carries "GEER BIKE OÜ · Reg. 17213697 (Äriregister) · Pärnu mnt 139b, 11317 Tallinn" together with a contact address, so the company is registered in Estonia with its commercial register number. The privacy policy names "renewable-powered servers in Germany" as the server location, states "EU-Based & GDPR-Compliant" with the legal bases Art. 6(1)(a), 6(1)(b) and 6(1)(f) GDPR, lists the processors by name (Mailgun, Plausible, Sentry, Grafana, Stripe, Strava, Meta Platforms) and discloses third-country transfers under standard contractual clauses; the applicable law is Estonian. | ||||||
- available
- limited
- not available
- not stated on the provider's own pages
In context
Six apps handle bike components in very different ways, and none of them is right for everyone. Strava counts kilometres per component. Garmin shows wear as progress bars on compatible Edge head units. ProBikeGarage is one of the widest-reaching maintenance apps. mainTrack is free to download and has been on iOS since 2019. Geer is the cheapest paid option and syncs with Strava in real time. BikeCare weights the conditions a part is ridden in and turns that into a remaining life. This page sets out the differences, including the ones where BikeCare loses. All five providers were last re-checked against their own websites and store listings on 2 November 2026.
What BikeCare is built for
Kilometres become a remaining life
Strava shows how far a component has been ridden. BikeCare works out how far it will still last: for chain, tyres, brake pads, cassette and 20+ further parts, in kilometres and in days.
Wet rides count for more than dry ones
Remaining life is weighted by the conditions: wet weather and surface for the drivetrain, elevation gain and wet weather for the brakes. A rainy ride over gravel eats more chain than the same distance dry and flat, and that is exactly how it is counted.
Tyre pressure is calculated, not noted down
The calculator takes your rider weight (the bike's weight is assumed per bike type), front and rear tyre width and the tyre system (tube, tubeless, hookless), and on hookless rims caps the result hard at the ISO/ETRTO maximum. In Strava, a pressure value would sit in the component's free-text note.
Chain care follows the method you actually use
Hot wax, drip wax, dry lube and wet lube each have their own intervals, and a wet ride flags chain care as due straight away. Someone who hot-waxes gets different dates from someone running wet lube through the winter.
A service log that knows the costs
Workshop visits, part prices, warranty dates: all recorded, and exportable as CSV or PDF. BikeCare turns them into cost per year and cost per kilometre, per bike and across all your bikes.
Reminders you set yourself
Push and email are configured separately, each with its own rhythm. Reminder emails can be switched off entirely without losing the push reminders.
The bike changes hands with its history
When you sell, the BikeCare Passport hands the bike over to the buyer's own account with a one-time link: parts with their intervals and the wear so far, the odometer and the service history go with it, while your notes, costs and rides stay with you. For people interested in buying there is also a time-limited, revocable share link and the service report as a PDF, all free of charge.
Common questions
Which bike maintenance app is the best one?
There is no single answer, and any page that gives you one is selling something. Strava counts kilometres per component but, according to its own help centre, has no target value to turn them into a remaining life; Garmin Connect shows a progress bar towards a limit you set yourself, not a forecast from riding conditions. mainTrack is free with no subscription, but Apple-only (no Android). Geer is the cheapest paid option and writes wear status back to your Strava activities. ProBikeGarage brings a predefined catalogue of 47,000+ bikes. BikeCare weights wet weather, surface and elevation gain, adds a tyre pressure calculator and a cost per kilometre. Pick by what you actually want to do.
Do I have to give up Strava to use BikeCare?
No. BikeCare takes its rides from Strava; it is an addition, not a replacement. Everything you already do in Strava keeps working.
Which of these apps is free?
Garmin offers gear tracking to all Garmin Connect users; the optional Garmin Connect+ (€8.99 a month or €89.99 a year in Germany) is not needed for it. Strava does not list gear tracking among its paid membership features; an individual membership costs €10.99 a month or €74.99 a year in Germany according to strava.com/pricing. mainTrack is free to download with no subscription advertised; its four in-app purchases, named Coffee, Snack, Lunch and Dinner, are listed without saying what they unlock. Geer has a free tier for two bikes and five components, and Pro from €1.67 a month billed annually. ProBikeGarage is free to install on Android and on the web, costs €3.99 on iOS, and offers an optional Premium subscription. BikeCare is free for one bike, including the AI parts recommendation and one AI bike setup and one Copilot question a month; Pro adds unlimited bikes, the 90-day maintenance plan and more AI.
Where does BikeCare lose?
On price against Geer and mainTrack, on reach and catalogue size against ProBikeGarage, on community and segments against Strava, and on showing wear on the head unit against Garmin. Each of those is set out on the individual comparison page for that app.
How current are these figures?
All five providers (Strava, Garmin Connect, ProBikeGarage, mainTrack and Geer) were re-checked against their own websites and store listings on 2 November 2026. Feature sets change. If something here is out of date, write to support@bikecare.app and we will correct it and note the date.